The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To ensure the general welfare of the people in a nation, the nation has to not only have the ability but also have a good system to make it happen. Different people may have different indicators of a great nation in mind; however, they may find their believed indicators do not contradict with “the general welfare of the people.” I therefore agree with the claim.

The general welfare of people including all aspects, such as human rights, cultural needs and economic success. In order to enhance the general welfare, a nation has to be strong enough overall. It has to have a robust economy to provide the financial foundation for its people to succeed. It is necessary to have prosperous cultural resources so that the cultural needs could be satisfied. It is also indispensable for the nation to have a good political and social system to assure the well-being or its people. Since the general welfare encompass virtually all aspects, though some people may have some peculiar indicators of a great nation in mind, these particular ones are constituent parts of the general welfare of its people, which therefore is the surest indicator.

The united states is a great nation. It has the largest economy in the world and spends about 37 percent of its GDP on the welfare system. Its technological and scientific achievements are also leading. In addition, government funding has bolstered the cultural life of its people, such as arts and historical events. Moreover, the United states has an effective political system to guard the human rights of its people including freedom, beliefs, and the like. All aforementioned elements work together to fortify the general welfare of its people. In other words, one can see how strong a nation is in all aspects by looking at the general welfare of its people, which is hence a reliable indicator of a great nation.

Some people may argue that China is a great nation though it only spends approximately twelve percent of its GDP on welfare, has the tightest restraints regarding using the internet, and has put people’s health and environment at a great risk because of the pollution. They have convincing reasons. According to U.S.News, China is the third most powerful country in the world. China has the world second-largest economy, right after in the United States. Besides, based on the data from the Journalist’s Resource, China has taken a major role in world science and technology. Based on these factors, China is believed to be a great nation. As we can see, people may see a nation great because it is powerful and strong. However, with general welfare to be the indicator, a nation is not only strong and powerful but also has a good system to ensure it. So, whoever believes that China is a great nation, he will likely believe the United States is one as well. “The general welfare” is hence the surest indicator.

In conclusion, due to the particular achievements of its rulers, artists or scientist, a nation may be peculiarly strong in one or some aspects, which could be the reasons for some people to say it is a great nation. However, with the general welfare of its people, a nation has to be strong in all aspects. It is therefore the surest indicator.