The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

If you ask your friends which country they think is a great nation, they probably will give you different answers for their own convinced reasons. With the indicators of a great nation, depending on which area or field one look at, he will have his own believed ones in mind. It could be the achievements of the rulers, artists, or scientists. It could also be the general welfare of its people. However, the statement completely denies the former and overemphasizes the significance of the latter. I therefore disagree with the claim.

The achievements of certain elites could indicate a great nation for some people. Very often, people have their own interest or goals. If a country can help achieve their objectives, it will be a great nation for them. One may think Egypt is a great nation because of its archaeological value. One may believe Germany is a great nation because of its free colleges. One may advocate Japan is a great nation because of its animation culture. These reasons for crediting a country a great nation are equally important. At the same time, none of them is the surest indicator.

Similarly, the general welfare of its people may be not as good; still, it could be considered great, due to its comprehensive strength. Take China for instance. It only spends approximately twelve percent of its GDP on welfare, has the tightest restraints regarding using the internet, and has put people’s health and environment at a great risk because of the pollution. The general welfare of its people is therefore not plausible.

However, the weakness of its welfare does not stop some people from considering it as a great nation for the following reasons. According to U.S.News, China is the third most powerful country in the world, and has the world second-largest economy, right after in the United States. In addition, China is a member of several regional and international organizations. For example, since 1971 it has been a permanent member of the United Nations Security Council. Its global influence has rapidly grown. Moreover, based on the data from the Journalist’s Resource, China has taken a major role in world science and technology. As we can see, despite the unnotable welfare condition, China has displayed many other qualities for people to admit its greatness.

Moreover, though a nation takes a good care of its people in general, it will unlikely be considered great by everyone. For example, many people believe the United States is a great nation due to the good welfare of its people: it protects people’s human rights, respects their beliefs, promotes individuals to succeed, and meet their cultural needs. However, some people refuse to believe so because of its gun abuse and racial problems. So, a nation who has the best welfare is not necessarily a great nation to some people.

In conclusion, what indicates a great nation is indeed a subjective question. Depending on what people value, both the achievements of its rulers, scientists, or artists and the general welfare of its people could be the indicators to some people. Yet none of them is the surest indicator for everyone, I thus disagree with the claim.