The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The essence of this prompt is that a nation’s true development is measured by the general welfare of its residents and other achievements as well and I stand by it. Usually, when it comes to a nation’s development or when it a nation is accoladed as a great nation, the first thing that anyone thinks about is the nation’s achievements that is the rich history and the contributions of rulers or leaders into making what the nation is today, or discoveries made by venerable scientists. For example, Edward Jenner, a well respected English scientist who precluded the concept of vaccines to the world. He was the one who discovered the vaccine for small pox. In those days small pox was a highly noxious disease, because of which people have suffered the loss of their loved ones, and people couldn’t have imagined a panacea for this pernicious disease until the small pox vaccine was discovered by Edward Jenner. This was one of the greatest accomplishments by Edward Jenner who was from the United States of America.

Rulers and artists sure make the country a great one. For example, we all have heard stories about the great Mughal emperor Akbar, he was a great leader and ruler in Northern parts of India. Shah Jahan another great ruler, known for the love for his wife. He built the Taj Mahal in Agra, India, which is the Symbol of Love and a great historic monument. It is the crown jewel of art in India because of its baroque architecture. So, when someone says India, they immediately remember or connect the nation with its rich history and rulers of the past.

However, a great nation cannot just be about its achievements. what makes a great nation is the welfare of the people as well. for example, let’s take a company say Glaxo Smith Kline(GSK). This company is manufacturer of medicines for various diseases. GSK hasn’t become one of the top pharmaceutical companies only by manufacturing medicines, there is so much more to it. For the company to be a successful one, it has to give a unique solution to a problem, but that’s not the only important part of success of a company. It would also have to have a good working professional environment for the employees, an environment that is secure, free of any kind of discrimination, sexism and violence. If the employees are harassed why would they work for the company? If there no employees, then how will the work be done and how will the company become successful? A nation works in the same way. The company can be thought of smaller version or a model to understand why welfare of people is important for a nation's development and growth.

For example, if a nation has a rich history, great scientific discoveries and artistic inventions, but it is crippled with poverty and a debilitating economy, will it still be called a great nation? It most certainly will not. In simple terms, general welfare is providing protection and provide for those in need. The constitution is built in such a way so that it can meet all these needs. People should be given proper healthcare and security no matter what. The factors like poverty, literacy rate, employment rate, that is general welfare and the country's economic status, all go hand in hand, and plays a key role in marking the successful running of a nation.

In conclusion, it is important that a nation focuses on the welfare of its people rather than just trying to achieve something in other fields like research, and others. The general well-being of the residents of a nation becomes an indispensable element for a nation to be a great one.