Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises a very controversial issue of whether, the salaries of the teachers should be based on the academic performance or not. Indisputably, there must be a method to instigate the teachers to perform better or give out their best but, the dependence of their salaries on the students scoring is not feasible. Thus, I would disagree with the contention of the author that teachers' salaries should be dependent on the academic performances of their students and would argue that salaries of the teachers' should not be dependent on the performance of their students.

Firstly, there might be many students who are trying really hard but, they could not get good scores. Also, it might be possible that some students might not score well in their exams due to some other reasons and the salary of the teachers' is to be at the loss. To illustrate this, let us take an example where the teacher taught well in the class and the student was also bright. But, due the reason that he had to attend the funeral of his relative just the day before the exams he could not perform well because of the grief. In such a case there is no mistake of the teacher, though the salary of the teacher is to suffer.

Secondly, it is also possible that some students might deserve less scores. But, in order to increase their salaries the teacher provides them with the good marks. Thus, it will be unjust to the students working hard for their scores. Also,this would make students careless as they would know that the salary of the teacher depends on their grades. Therefore, they would take their studies lightly and not follow their teacher accordingly. Hence, this would hinder the progress of the society and will not help in the overall growth of the children.

Admittedly, there are some changes that should be made in order to provide motivation to the teachers about the teaching field. In order that, they would try to give their best into this field. Yet, dependence of their salaries on the grades of the students is not one of them. Because of such an implication, the teachers will reamin in the fear all the time about their social and economic security and evidently this would not yield good for the students. So, there are other ways which should be implemented and this step should not be taken.

To sum up, the contention of the author is indefensible that the salaries of the teachers' should depend on the academic performances of their students. It is contrary to the overwhelming evidence that the salaries should be independent of the grades of the students. Thus, as long as some measurements are performed, or some areas are invovled the conclusion that the salaries of the teachers' should be independent of the performances of the students holds credit.