Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement assumes that students’ academic performance is truly an outcome of teachers’ efforts and that students themselves have no role to play in their results. This, is not true. Such policy forces teachers rather than encourage them in their duty to enlighten students with knowledge.

Students academic performance is not based on teachers’ efforts alone. Students have different grasping powers, different interests and different levels of commitment. A batch of students can be good at mathematics for they can have a natural bent towards it, and not be so good in english. They may be able to learn mathematics at a faster pace and without much help than they learn english. To measure the performance of math and english teachers then, on this criteria lone, seems unfair to the teachers. Moreover, it can be possible that a class has a brilliant student who is excelling in almost all subjects and another that needs more time to work on the same topics. The same teachers taught the same things at the same time to these kids as they belong in one class. However, the difference in results of the students, show that their academic performance is no measure of teachers’ endeavour.

Superficially, it may seem, that this scheme of proportioning teachers’ salary on their students academic performance, may encourage teachers to put in more efforts. However, it can pressure them, and they in turn can pressure the students. To base their livelihood on students’ performance, seems to be a drastic measure to encourage teachers. There are other alternatives that schools can colleges can employ. Recognition of good teachers, monetary rewards for teachers whose students have outstanding results and providing teachers with the option of choosing their class hours are great ways that can inspire a teacher. If the salary of school faculty depends only on the marks that student obtain on their academic exams, we are in some way discouraging teachers from disseminating any knowledge that is not academic. School teachers inspire their students to be a better human being. They inculcate values in them. To dissuade them from discussing life in general, will not serve the purpose of schools which is to produce responsible and sensitive young adults. Thus, the scheme has a false appeal of increasing the efficiency of education system.

Hence, teachers efforts are not completely reflected in students performances, as students’ results are a dependent on many factors that are out of the influence of teachers. Such policies, if implemented could burden the teachers as well as the students. If encouraging teachers is the main purpose of this measure, then this can be achieved with alternative means which are not so drastic.