To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement proposes that in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. The statement may seem plausible but is narrow minded. Though major cities indeed represent some important aspects, but to understand a society completely, it is mandatory to take the rural and semi urban regions of the country in consideration as well.

A major city may present the picture of the technological, political and economic aspects of the society but to get the complete picture the rural regions of the country. The rural and semi urban regions are the places where the tradition, the custom and the actual socio-economic growth of the country can be grasped in a better way. Given to modernization and globalization, the major cities have become more or less similar to each other. If Mumbai, a major metropolitan of India, is considered, it would be seen that the city is filled with the outlets of McDonalds and Starbucks. People of this city live fast paced lives. The fashion is also highly westernized there. The same is the case with Seoul or New York. So in order to understand the Indian society, to study the Indian culture, it is important to study small towns and villages of India as well.

The financial, technological and political aspects of the society are certainly important, but, it’s other equally, if not more, aspects cannot be neglected. The history, tradition and customs of the society are better preserved away from the major hubs, as they are less connected and assimilated and hence lesser prone to the intermingling of various societies. They do not globalize as fast as the major cities. Therefore, one may likely to find a unique tradition or custom of that particular society in a small town or village.

While some aspects are best exhibited by the major cities, small towns and villages also have similar systems whether it is judiciary, political, financial or anything else. Regardless to where people live, what their standard of living is, if they live in the same society, they will receive similar benefits or face similar hardships. As the latter is less populated than the former, it is easier to understand their functioning there.

The major cities, certainly present the insights of various aspects of the society, but one must invest equal , if not more, time in the study of the smaller communities, as it is there, the heritage, history , culture and tradition of a society is preserved in an unadulterated and undiluted form.