To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

The author is claiming that the major cities are the decider of the most important charactreristics of a society. I am not completely agree with the author's claim because the society is influenced by their elders and in a country like India there were no major or minor cities before some decades but it was famous for the vilages and countyside and, these regoins are the mothers of the culture.

First point is that how many major cities are there or how much portion of the whole area it covers, for example there are less than 20 mega cities in India, while myriad number of villages are there and we can't accurately predict the important characteristics of a society just by judging the these limited major cities. It is certainly true that the major cities are the one who are having better lifestyle and they are also well educated compare to other side of a society but villages and small cities are suffering from enumorous problem that the major cities are not. By proper studies of awe can see that small cities and villages are the one by which the country is growing for example, farmers are the major suppliers of the the country's wealth.

Secondly villages and small cities are one which are having the beauty of nature and and peace while in a hectic life of major cities one is not able to enjoy the beauty of nature and now a days visitors are prefering to go to see the old momuments and villages and our culture is also influenced by them so the real gist of a culture at the time of festivals is enjoyed in these vilages. For example in India there are many festivals like "Uttarayan" and "Ganesh chaturthi" they are famous in Gujarat and Mumabai respectively so they are influenced by the paricular region and characteristics of both the states are so different.

Thirdly in villages there are lack of resourses and facilities, while judging the major cities we can see that they are very well developed but we cant predict anything about the whole society because the major portion is coverd by these small cities and villages who are suffering from so many problems and living a very simple life. As the sari was the singular cloth wore by ladies before some decades in India and now a days in all major cities many of the morden clothes like jeans, shirt, kurties are being wore by ladies but in many villages and small cities still due to parochial approach some families dont allow them to wore anything except a sari. It's like the major cities are cover of the society and we cant judge a book by it's cover.