To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Studying the major cities of a society to ascertain its important characteristics is not a criteria that the result obtained would be valid for all other cities. It will be unwise to just conclude that to get the important characteristics of United States of America, one should just study major cities like New York and Texas with out studying little cities like Arkansas. Information obtained from those cities cannot be used to conclude for other cities.

Information obtained from major cities cannot be assumed to correlate with other cities. Just studying major cities alone won't give a valid information about the performance of other cities. For example, conducting a census in New York City and obtaining a result as being populated by a number of people does not mean the same thing that Arkansas is also over populated with people when the number of people who live in a small city like Arkansas is smaller in number compared to the number of people who live in big city New York City.

The understanding of a society characteristics cannot be obtained by mere studying just its major cities alone. This will create a false impression that all cities are equal. Lets consider how people live in New York. People who are in New York City, without doubt live an expensive life. Concluding that the way people who are in New York live is the same as people who are in Arkansas would be wrong. This fact would render the characteristic performance of the other city invalid and worthless.

In conclusion, obtaining the characteristic performance of major cities cannot be used to conclude for other cities. This will not only lead to an invalid conclusion but will also make other cities worthless of their performance. The way to get a vivid understanding of a society characteristic performance is to carefully study all of its city.