To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A society is compound of major cities and other cities. Each city own its special characteristics. In order to best understand the most important characteristics of a society, one should study different kinds of cities completely.

Undoubtedly, major cities are the center of economy, culture, transportation and art. They influence those fields of other cities and usually control the development of the whole society. For example, New York is such a city, which gives us enormous information about America. First of all, it has to say that New York is a prosperous city and its commercial activities are relevant to the overall country. Furthermore, it's also a city with a number of minorities, which come from all over the world. Black people, Chinese, Indian, Jews and so on, come together, forming the diverse culture of today's America. In addition, another indispensable factor is the historical ancient buildings and museums. New York once had acted as the main battlefield of Revolution and therefore it has historical significance. Also, the statue of Liberty in New York, a gift from France, not only witness the independence of America, but also represent the friendly relationship between France and America. Anyway, major cities, such as New York, are indispensable for the understanding of a society's characteristics.

However, depending on major cities alone cannot help us to fully know the features of a society. The small town and village also have their own particular features, which may be different from the major cities. On the one hand, the situation of economy and transportation in major cities cannot stand for the current situation of all the cities. As we all know, in most countries, there are big gaps between rich and poor areas' economy. Large skyscraper, busy street and convenient transportation, which are generally found in big cities, rarely exist in small town and village. On the other hand, owing to the distinction of place and experience, different cities have formed various characteristics. One of the most obvious cases is the eating habit. In China, the southerner prefer rice and the northerner prefer food made from flour. The people living in the grassland generally eat more beef or mutton, While in the area close to the sea, people are inclined to eat more seafood.

Moreover, the small town and village seems to better conserve conventional culture. As the globalization of economy, people in different countries have more communications and most of the major cities have an enormous number of inhabitants from other countries. Those people are accustomed to distinct life habits in new environments and, at the same time, they also affect the environment where they are living. Thus it has to say that the major cities are similar in many ways.

To sum up, all the districts in major cities and the small town in countryside provide useful information for us. Thus, only by study those areas respectively can we get comprehensive knowledge and best understand the most important characteristics.