To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since there is no specific definition for the most important characteristics of a society, different people will have different ones in mind. Plus, different societies have different ones. Therefore, to illustrate my point of view on this topic, I am taking China and my understanding of its most important characteristics as an example. As for China, its most important characteristics are: the tremendous impact of Guanxi (the system of social networks in China), collectivism, and ethical standards regulated by Confucianism, such as filial piety. Some of these characters are better represented in small towns while others are bolstered in major cities. Nonetheless, they are all displayed in both major cities and small regions. Therefore, to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one does not have to study its major cities. And I do not agree with the statement.

Some essential characteristics are strengthened in major cities, such as the Guanxi. This is a prevalent practice in China. People tend to use their network of connections in business and politics to make deals or achieve certain goals. As a result of Guanxi, no matter how competitive one is, if he does not have the right connection, he will likely fail. In china, the width of one’s network of Guanxi determine whether he will lose or win a competition. Guanxi is closely bounded to competition. The more extreme the practice of Guanxi, the more intense the competition is. Major cities have the most intensive competition in general. Consequently, studying major cities can help one understand the profound influence Guanxi practice has in the society more readily. However, competition is everywhere. So, Guanxi practice exists everywhere in China. Therefore, though major cities help enhance one’s understanding of this significant characteristic, one does not have to study major cities to acquire that.

On the other hand, some major characteristics are weakened in major cities, such as some of the traditional ethical standards set by Confucianism. In major cities, due to the overall development and imported foreign cultures, many beliefs of people has been changing. In China, affected by Confucianism, the elderly in a family have a high status and have the most respect. Younger people tend to listen to the elderly while making important decisions. Good or bad, this practice has been one of the most important properties in China. The smaller the region, the stronger the character. In cities, influenced by the technology and diverse cultures, younger people are not willing to let the elderly to interfere with their decisions and life. They are also not respectful to the aged people as the people did decades ago. So, if one wants to understand how filial piety is displayed in the society, the better choice is smaller towns rather than major cities.

In conclusion, depending on one’s understanding of the most important characteristics of a society, many of them are well represented in both major cities and small areas, such as collectivism and relatively conservatism compared to western culture in China. Some of the characteristics are strengthened in major cities; yet, they also play their role in all other small areas. Moreover, for some significant characteristics, such as the traditional features, small towns are a better choice than major cities considering the external influence. Hence, to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one does not have to study its major cities.