To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Cultures are not only represented by people but by their surroundings and their stimulations too. If one must put oneself upon the task of exploring varied cultures, one only needs go as far as imploring himself to study the major cities. I tend to partially agree with the statement- regardless there are a handful of reasons I would tend to present other views.

For a city to be a major city- influential, rich with resources and opportunities, it has to be pre-established before the time of its dawn with the most efficient planning that can benefit it in the long run. When such a city booms, it often takes upon the role of a leading model. It provides more opportunities, more areas to explore for innovations, equal rights and comfortable environments suitable to growths of any and all kinds of endeavors. When one takes into account this certain city, one can study all there is about the culture and characteristics of that specific society—let alone, the best of what the society has to offer.

The student sees the city in motion; with all its gears and grunts in clockwork, abstracting and unveiling the prose that builds a society- be it the business aspects, the commercial gains or the residential happiness. The city not only derives itself in a baseless way but provides great insights into the drive of the people residing. Cleanliness, entertainment centers, the local cuisine and the markets- all of them make up what consists of a society. If it’s a rather big city, one might also see people from various races and cultures prancing along, which shows the magnitude of acceptance the society in question has. Furthermore, dwelling in the city and appreciating the local company can give a person great insights into the daily routines of residents. One may discover the hardships, the easy-goings, the adoration and what they’d like to change alike in conversation stemming from their views of the city.

On the contrary, metropolitans are only a delegate to what the society has to offer. That is, only the workaholics, the innovators and the driven people reside here. They often fail to represent a substantial part of the society that believes in less tolling and more relaxed approach to life. The nebulous towns and villages often have a lot to offer- they mostly form the agricultural business, be it dairy or farm products or simply the serene scenery everyone needs once in a while. There is always a yin to a yang, and while the major cities represent a driven, work-oriented lifestyle, the country side represents the escape & blithe households.

Conclusively, one can say that to study any society one definitely needs to study both the major cities and the smaller towns but can often incline towards studying the metropolitans more as that is the part tantamount to represent the best the people there have to offer. It also, at last depends on what the person is looking for? Is he looking for the source of success? Or is he looking for the future of today’s wins?