To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

This is a proven fact that various cities, town or village aggregate to form a society however its major cities put forward a condensed model of the society. The most important characteristics of a society, such as technological, social, historical and economic characteristics can be analyzed from studying its major cities as these act as the economic and historical center of the society. That is the reason why any government uses the major cities to serve as the testing grounds for any ambitious project before implementing in other cities.

The metropolitans perfectly demonstrate the technological standing and escalation of the society; the major cities are equipped with the best architecture, most advanced public transport systems, perfectly capable health care and rejuvenation facilities. Furthermore, in post-agrarian societies, most jobs are contained within cities. That is commerce is conducted in the cities.

The major percentage of the population of a society resides in metropolitans; people from all sort of background live in the major cities thus various different cultures and traditions unite to evolve as the culture of theses major cities.

When any society undergoes major political, social or economical changes and advancements the cities which play a vital role in this change becomes the metropolitans and thus these cities have a rich historical background which is deeply rooted in the history of the society.

Some people may argue that a few major cities can not account for a vast society and rural areas and small towns play a vital role in determining its characteristics; which is agreeable but that does not undermine the fact that these cities do act as a small sample of this vast society, due to the above-mentioned reasons. These cities play a central role in every major functionality of the society and thus we can conclude that major characteristics of a society can be understood by studying its major cities.