To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A society reflects the characteristics, cultures and values of the people living in it. These characteristics differ from society to society. I partially support the statement that by studying the major cities the most important

characteristics of a society can be understood. I also prefer that, the values and cultures can also be known and understood from the close look of the small towns and cities also.

Major cities are the live of a society. People of various kinds live there. They represents the small and big customs and cultures a society is made of. The characteristics of the society can be studied from the nature of people. It can also be determined from the behavior of the people towards themselves and to the outsiders. The most important

characteristics are examined from their lifestyle.

Since the major cities are the center of a society, their big and important events are celebrated grandly here. These events represent the thoughts and believe of the people, which helps one to understand the characteristics of that society.

Similarly, small towns and cities also hold the characteristics of a society. There may be some difference of the behavior and living styles among the people of small cities and big ones, but the characteristics of a society is the mixture of those dissimilarities.

One may say that, major cities are the cities of cosmopolitan culture,different people from different countries live in those cities. So therefore, it is difficult to understand the major characteristics of a particular society. In my defense I want to say that, the major cities may be the cities of cosmopolitan cultures and people but the base of the society remains the same. People who go to a different or new city, they have had to accept and adjust themselves in the new environment. They may behold their own culture, but they also participate in those culture and events where they live.

A society is established of both major and minor cities. Their combined characteristics reflect the characteristics of a society. One cannot truly judge a society by studying the major cities only.