To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt states that understanding any society, one must study its major cities. Civilizations operate much like icebergs: only a portion of its true scope is seen on the surface. While major cities are sure to provide valuable insight on a group of people, outliers often skew the actual nature of the demographics. In-depth analysis is required for an accurate perception of a society.

To begin with, the word "society" is a broad term. Society could refer to a country, city or religion. The United States is considered a melting pot of different cultures and religions. Her cities, such as New Orleans, have cultures largely influenced by other countries. Contrastly, there are cultures that do not have official cities. The Kurds are a religious group of people who do not have any officially designated countries or cities. With a following of over their 67 million people spread throughout the Middle East, no specific characteristics can be drawn from their dispersion. Societies are general in nature; pinpointing traits to different groups of people by examing their major cities is not a realistic task.

Further, societies vary in size and scope. For instance, America is a population of over 350 million and of dozens of different religions. Comparing San Francisco - a largely progressive, liberal area - to the rural plains of conservative Alachua, Florida is like comparing apples to oranges. Both make up a significant part of America, and to extract the "most important" characteristics from areas with polar differences is arbitrary. Further, a recent Wall Street Journal article referenced Qater, and the country's disparity of wealth. Qater is largely a poor country, but an astounding 90% of their money is controlled by 1% of their citizens; their major cities are extravagant, but it is certainly not a fair representation of their general population. Major cities do not properly characterize a society.

Alternatively, one can understand how it is possible to derive meaning behind society's major cities. A recent gallup poll published that more than half the world's populations live in urban city centers. Gathering information from areas in which the majority of the population lives in major city centers may convey accurate interpretations. For example, Israel is a small country. Many would argue that going to it's two major cities, Tel Aviv and Jerusalem, will provide adequate context into their culture. Studying major cities can occasionally offer a true representation of culture for some countries, but this is not true for all societies.

Unarguably, major cities can provide a snapshot of the culture of countries, religion and culture, but it is just that: a snapshot. It is not representative for all groups of people. Relying on the perception of specific cities is to rely on "the tip of the iceberg."