To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

There are many aspects socialists take into consideration when considering and investigating main characteristics of a society. The statement claims that major cities is of vital importance for these studies, while I assert that there is no certain prototype can be followed in social studies. That is to say, one should consider the real circumstances of a society before choosing where to start for further and deeper studies. Major cities can be a critical aspect, but sometimes, rustic areas is also unavoidable.

Obviously, the statement assumes that major cities is one of the most irreplaceable part for a modern society. For a socialist who want to know about American society and culture, for instance, visiting major cities in the US will undoubtly help him a lot. The economic conditions, political environemnt and people's lifestyle in big cities like New York vividly reflect the main features of a typical American society.

The assumption may sound appearing, is however, not complete. If a socialist merely focus on big cities, he will not be able to get a whole picture of the society. Big cities do reflect many major aspects of a certian society, but it is not enough. Because for a society, every part matters. Distant rural areas may seem unimportant, but actually, it is one unignorable part, and sometimes it is the difference between different areas provides more insights into a society. For example, only after visiting both the metropolitans and a indigent countryside in the US, one can get a bigger picture of the nation, and have a glimpse on the inbalance exists. This is quite important for anyone who wants to know a society well.

Additionally, sometimes it is even impossible to investigate the major cities when it comes to some special social groups. For instance, when considering the main folk characteristics of a minority ethnic group in China, it is undeniable that city is not enough for deep interogation. Living in rural areas, these people have their own culture and social customs, including their own costumes, special food style, and even own language. They still maintain their traditional lifestyles to some extent, which is not presented in any major cities in China. Thus, to understand their society, one have to go to their own area, instead Beijing or Guangzhou.

For the aforementioned evidence, although cities are important for a social and is becoming more and more influential, when considering social studies, exploring major cities is not enough. Only after knowing as many perspectives as possible of a society, can we understand the society fully and subjectively.