To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

When question comes about understanding foreign society, one may say, that it is important to meet people from there, perhaps learn nation’s history or language, live for a while in that society. One of the points of view on this topic is that important characteristics of a society can be explored through studying in its major cities. While I admit that this recommendation has good point, I find that it is not correct for 100% and can not be used as ultimate guide.

Nowadays, we live in fast, technology developed society and due to urbanization, a lot of rural population moved to urban areas. In those high-loaded cities people usually live a busy life, loosing connections to former roots and forgetting traditions. Major cities are economically and technology advanced, with big population, they also may have many foreigners living in it, thus creating more like mixture of people and traditions than preserving original characteristics of society. I believe that modern cities are in most cases similar to each other, so there is no use of learning any culture just by visiting only its major cities.

From my personal experience, I know that big economically developed cities are completely different from villages and small cities, whose population have another life in any respect. There is even an expression in Russian, that says not to judge all Russia by Moscow and Saint-Petersburg, which are biggest and most developed cities in the country. Citizens’s of those two town differs from other Russians sometimes very dramatically.

As another example, nobody will fully understand German culture by visiting Berlin or Munchen, because they are not representative for a whole nation. But if somebody will visit German rural areas with it’s small villages, little traditional festivals and markets, this will indeed give a picture of a Germany as a society and reveal bunch of facts about of German people and the life they spare.

In a contrast, to the authors respect, I can agree that major cities of a nation are useful to visit, because they are important political and economic centers, which play big role in country’s life. Additionally, major cities are usually old one, so they hold big historical and architecture value, which can provide pieces of information needed to understand any society.

In conclusion, I believe that understanding important characteristics of a society cannot be done through studying only major cities. Any researcher should acknowledge that they are not as representative and sometimes rural areas can tell more about society and its traditions. However, I think that major cities are important and can serve as additional sources of information, therefore sometimes they are helpful to visit.