To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

It is an indeed dubitable fact that, if anyone wants to know or understand primary characteristics of society then, he/she needs to study its major cities. Major cities are crucial part of any society or country. So, I concede with this issue at some extent.

However, only study of a major city is inadequate to know important characteristics of a society. For instance, India is an agriculture-dominated country. In India, vast difference between rural area and urban area. One can get ample of specialty in a society. People of rural area are very helpful to each other whereas, in an urban area most people are gives priority to themselves and always find their benefits. So for thoroughly examine of a society it would not sufficient to study only major cities.

In conclusion, by examining major cities it is enough to get important characteristics. However, examine all facet one will get all most important characteristics of a society.