Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the fast developing of our society, most modern people live a hectic life and normally don’t have time and patience to think things and other people deeply. Thus, they sometimes judge others by their appearances and equate appealing image with reality behind it. However, there’re still many fields that are based on the truth instead of good looking.

Admittedly, people in contemporary society tend to be superficial about things and others. For example, celebrities with fancy looking can always drive their fans crazy about them. Many people will support their idols indiscriminately, even if the celebrities behave ruthless or tell a lie to the public. This trend has lasted for years and it is extremely popular among young generations, and thereby it leads to the relentless pursuit of attractive appearances of the celebrities. Also some of them will risk their health or life to do cosmetic surgery or have medicine to prevent them from looking old.

However, the phenomenon in some specific areas doesn’t represent the overall conditions, and there’re still some fields which value the truth very much. For example, the medical industry has always been a place where scientists pursue the truth in order to save more people’s lives. Yoyo Tu, a Nobel Prize winner in medicine in 2015, invented the medicine to cue malaria. Before the invention of such a medicine, more than 50 percent of people in the world face the threat of malaria in their lives. Both Yoyo Tu and her medicine don’t have the appealing looking, but her pursuit of the truth leads to the great success to conquer one of the most severe diseases in our world.

In addition, the educational area is another example that the reality outweighs the attractive appearances. As we all know, schools are places where students come to acquire knowledge and skills in order to have a prospective future. The knowledge and skills can only be mastered through the relentless pursuing of the reality. If students in school spend too much in thinking how to make themselves more attractive, they may be left behind by their peers in academic work and thus be less competitive in the job market. In short words, only by mastering the truth of every subject they learn, they can have a successful career and life.

In sum, although there’re some domains that value appearances more than truth, many areas still maintain their traditions to put the truth in the first place. Therefore, I am optimistic about the pursuit of truth will continue to lead our society to the unremitting prosperity.