Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

In spite of the fact that nowadays knowledge of different fields has divided so much that one can never manifest complete knowledge of any specific branch, every individual should be encouraged to break through the boundary and try to learn something out of his or her own fields. University, in this case, ought to take the very first step.

There is no denying that in the era with rapid development of technology, everyone is burdened with physical as well as mental pressure. In the highly competitive society led by the boast of popularity, one can never surpass his peers without gaining much enough skills concerning his own field. However, after extraordinary advance in science and technology, the amount of knowledge up till now has overpassed any era before. As a result, younger generation has no choice but to devote most of their time to a specific field, which indicates no extra time can be spared to learn things really intriguing to them. For instance, most biotech company would prefer to employ those who have been trained in the field of biology for more than 6 years and at least have a degree of Master. It somehow reflects the fact that only the knowledge inside one’s field is practical and valuable. Besides, one might also argue that people with special talent should receive corresponding education.

Unfortunately, most people are too shortsighted for the lake of experience and perspective to foresee the utility of the knowledge outside their own fields. Actually, it is the knowledge which seems useless at first that turns out to be the most inspiring one. Take Eric Kandel into account. This extraordinary neurobiologist as well as Nobel Laureate studied history as he entered Harvard University, and then he was devoted to Psychoanalysis. As time went by, his interest turned to molecular neurobiology especially the mechanism of learning and memory. Although the former training seemed of little utility, his later researches showed that it was the knowledge outside his field that provides him with the most exciting ideas inaccessible to his peers.

Knowledge outside one’s own field is significant not only for individual career but also for the development of a society. As the leading designer of Sanxia Dam, one has to obtain a large range of knowledge concerning different fields. For example, physics and engineering are needed to ensure the dam durable for years. Geology and ecology are necessary when it comes to the potential impact to the environment. Besides, economics and management make sure the process is of low cost and high efficiency. In consequence, the importance of knowledge outside one’s own field to the development of both himself and the whole society indicates the necessity of implementing a more general education to every individual.

Frankly speaking, it is tough to measure the practical value of knowledge outside one’s own field as well as the feasibility of requiring every student to learn such knowledge. However, it should not hinder us from encouraging universities to provide students a better chance to broaden their horizon and gain stronger comprehensive ability in dealing with various challenges in the future.