Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Graduating high school, some students seek for further academic learning in universities. During their journey to become well-edified professions, they could expose themselves only to the area they are currently interested in or, as suggested in the given statement, to more diverse fields of study, which is not directly related to their majors. Although I don’t agree with the statement that universities should force their students to take other courses other than their majors, I still agree with the idea that there are more benefits in opening doors for students to a variety of courses than making them strictly focus on their own major.

Firstly, it should be pointed out that students start their university as early as 18 years old. This means that they are still growing and forming their idea of what they want to study and which career path they want to walk through their life. Thus, closing doors to other field of study as soon as they choose their own field of study in this period may result in deleterious outcome, since students may change their mind as they learn more about themselves and the society they are living in. When I was in university, for example, though I was a Business major, I took a variety courses in other majors, such as Civil Law, Media and Communication, Politics, Modern History, and etc. The widened learning experiences that I exposed myself in this period helped me to understand how this society was working, and consequently changed my career choice to become a Social Worker. As shown by my personal experience, universities should encourage their students to take various courses out of their majors.

Secondly, obtaining a variety of knowledge and skills in university is favored in this modern society, which has propensity for heterogeneity. In this modern world, successful people are those who understand how different realms of study can be merged and converged together to make a great synergy. Steve Jobs, for example, had a profound understanding of computer programing, of course, but he also had a good grasp of design and aesthetic, which he obtained in the Calligraphy course. Also, there are a few emerging area where Computational Science and Social Science are merged together to better solve the pressing societal issues. Therefore, it would be beneficial for students if they can broaden their knowledge in different field of study by taking courses out of their main interests.

Of course, some may still argue that taking other courses when students can focus on their own study may turn out to be nothing but wasting time and even financial resources. Such argument can be convincing when it comes to very few students who have no doubts in their own major they had chosen when they were 18 years old and would never change their career for whole their life. However, in reality, the majority of students change their major and their jobs. According to an article on New York Times, approximately 40% of university graduates are working in the profession that is irrelevant to their major in university. Thus, universities should minimize barriers to encourage their students to take courses out of their majors.

To sum, despite the benefits of focusing only on the field of study a student has chosen, I believe that universities should open doors for their students to obtain learning out of their field of major. Given the fact that the majority of students change their majors or have their jobs that are irrelevant to their major, taking a variety of courses would be beneficial for the students to make a well-informed decision.