Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In this modern era of globalization, post industrial revolution, with the world witnessing a second machine age, there has never been a time in history where more number of people with ordinary skills are being replaced by people programmed to do a special task. A student having command over one specialized field of study are supplanting those with wide range of knowledge but no mastery over one particular field.

In adherence to above statement, it would be too harsh for a university to mandate “every” student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study. First and foremost, to every other course that a student spends his time on, an indispensible amount of time is lost on his/her field of study. For example, if the argument is made mandatory then there are chances that a student who has already made up his mind to master a particular course may treat this course in a desultory way just completing by compulsion and no real motivation. There’s no real purpose when there the student is not self-motivated.

However, versatility is also of utmost importance in order to succeed, but it no way implies that the student needs to learn additional courses. Versatality is not only fathomed in terms of academics – for example, a student may be considered versatile if he’s flexible in terms of his intellectual outlook, has exemplary interpersonal skills, completes the task way before the deadline, devotes time to do additional research related to his field of study, manages extra-curricular activities along regular coursework.

Thus, with aforementioned points, to make it mandatory for “every” student is a bit too extreme. However if freedom is given to student whether he wants to opt for these extra courses would be more justifiable. Not every student is alike in terms of capabilities and potential, thus it is in the best interest for the university to give that freedom to students.