Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement suggests that universities should require all students to take various courses that are not in their field. Take into consideration of several possibilities that students may experience, they may not able to take extra courses while working on their major studies. So, universities should not require every student to take any courses outside the field; instead, they should suggest them to do so.

Some students do not have extra energy and time to take extra courses. Some students need to work part time or full time to support their study. They very often do not have time to study their major course let alone any others outside their major. To do well in any courses, hard work and time are vital. The mandatory outside field courses will leave them enough time for neither these extra courses nor their major studies.

Students have their own educational plans and interests. They tend to have some courses in mind that they want to take. For example, the career goal of a student majoring in Education is to teach immigrant English language learners. He is interested in taking courses relating to cultures and various foreign languages. If the school comes in and require the students to take courses concerning behavior management and how to teach science, the students’ plans and interests will be violated.

One may argue that knowledge does not stand alone and being multi-disciplinary is critical. For example, for students in Physics, they will need the knowledge of math to be able to do well in the field. Surely, some knowledge of different fields are closely related, and the lack of one will greatly affect the other as in the aforementioned example. Nonetheless, the knowledge of different fields that vitally dependent on each other are considered as and have already been included in the major studies while the courses are designed. Take a look at the aforementioned example, the necessary math knowledge will be included in the major courses. The courses outside of the field mentioned in the statement are talking about those that are not vital to the major studies. They therefore will not exert any life-or-death impact on the major studies and should not be mandatory.

In conclusion, one will never get enough knowledge, and it is beneficial to be knowledgeable in various fields. However, for a student, his major studies are the priority. In addition, students in the same major may have different interests and educational goals. Schools should not require them to take the same courses. Rather, they should provide sufficient advising to students so that they have a choice to or not to taken some extra courses.