Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education reform has been a controversial topic highly debated throughout recent years. Many consider the structures set in place to be antiquated. As a result, alternative schools with separate focuses have emerged. Naturally, this conversation has made its way into higher education. Contingents have formed arguing against the prerequisites - courses of many varieties - that students are required to take. But universities are tasked with building well rounded students. Most students go into college without a clue of what they would like to study. Colleges should require students to take a multitude of courses in order to address those needs.

To begin with, universities need to build students who can focus on their career aspirations, but are equipped for basic professional needs. Without mandatory courses, alarming deficits may form: a business major who is able to avoid taking standard english courses may make egregious grammatical errors in emails or presentations. Elementary grammatical mistakes will not reflect well on the employee nor the university. Well-rounded students create well-rounded workers. Required course work will address these inefficiences.

Furthermore, many students go into college not knowing what degree they would like to pursue. Most enroll in college at the young age of 18. Many consider this age too young to know what path to follow. The late founder and CEO of Apple, Steve Jobs, credits his prerequisite courses to many product ideas. In a past Wall Street Journal article, Jobs stated "my prerequisite English course helped strike an interest in caligraphy, which directly influenced the iPhone software design." Jobs knew he wanted to get into the computer industry, but Stanford forced him to take his required introductory courses which sparked an interest. Thus, students may not know what they are interested in; it is crucial that they gain exposure to an amalgm of curriculum.

Additionally, many argue that college is an investment. Nevertheless, required course work can impose a large monetary obligation onto the student. College is expensive. Additional classes will only add to this financial burden. But students are investing in themselves. The opportunity to gain more exposure to possible interests is worth it. The price to pay now will pay dividends in the long run.

In summary, colleges should require students to take a multitude of courses outside of their field of study. Often, student do not know what they will like nor what will benefit them. More exposure will grant the student more opportunities for growth. As a result, students will leave college knowledgable and well-rounded.