Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A university is an institution where greater knowledge is imparted, taking over from high school. It is also a place which opens the gates to a bright career and a successful future, especially when the student excels in his or her desired field of interest. While this is considered as the ideal belief, the reality is far from it - colleges and universities have become black holes, which engulf the students in the trap of studying subjects that are irrelevant for their field of study. Thus, universities should not require students to take up a variety of courses outside their field of study.

Consider this - what purpose will Medieval Literature and Accounting serve for a student who wishes to aspire a future in Chemical Engineering? Rather than learning about Shakespeare and Balance Sheets, it would be practically wise for the student to spend more of his/her time in learning the empirical formulas of Toulene and it’s practical applications. This will also help the student towards saving quite a lot of money, which he/she would otherwise have spent on those irrelevant subjects. With an increase in the amount of time dedicated towards the relevant subjects, the students will be greatly driven to contribute in their respective fields of study, be it research-wise or application-wise.

At the same time, some of the students are unsure which fields of study they want to pursue when they enter college. Thus, they should be given the freedom to learn a variety of subjects, before they can zero in on a particular field of study.

To conclude, forcing students to take up extra and irrelevant subjects can not only prove to be a costly and time-consuming ritual, but can also lead to the students losing focus and inspiration. This is why they should not be required to take up courses outside their field of study.