As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

The author of the statement above perpetrates a fallacy in linking the acquisition of knowledge negatively to the understanding of the universe. In what follows, we will see that despite the perplexing challenges, by gaining knowledge we certainly move forward in the understanding of our universe.

To begin with, in some discoveries, when we are at the brink of attaining a new knowledge, at the same time, we face the mysteries and perplexing questions which demand far more endeavors to be addressed. In theoretical physics and cosmology these confusing findings are quite noticeable. In such pioneer fields, many of the theories are trying to discredit the others. Even, sometimes a scientist’s own theory is not aligned with the preceding works of the scientist. Consider the “bastard” theory of Albert Einstein “quantum mechanics”. This field shows a certain behavior of a substance that cannot be defined within any scientific frameworks of the whole history. The Albert Einstein himself puts his endeavors until his last breath to reconcile the theory with the valid classic ones, but he failed.

However, acquiring knowledge is not against our understanding of the universe, as the writer wrongly assumes otherwise. Conversely, it is predicated upon acquiring knowledge that we can perceive the world. As mentioned before, one of the results of acquiring knowledge is to become aware of how much complex and mysterious is the universe. Knowing the very complexity and mysteriousness is the understanding of our world. It is then that we realize our limitations in understanding the world and we try hard to expand it beyond. We need to know how much we do not know about the universe, not to become complacent. Finding the complexities shatters our confidence of our superficial knowledge and demands us to contemplate deeper.

Finally, aside the complexity, by attaining more knowledge, there are certain answers to our previous questions, helping us understand our world and use the phenomena in favor of the human beings. It was with the experience and increasingly acquiring knowledge of the Fleming that he came up with the cure for the infective bacteria. The mentioned quantum theory of Albert Einstein made several breakthroughs before it makes the questions about the new area of physics. Hence, by acquiring new knowledge, we can answer the old questions and we definitely leap forward in perceiving our universe, no matter how much more mysteries and complexities await us.

In sum, as discussed, acquiring the knowledge is the foundation of understanding the world. Even the revealed complexities and mysteries are the part of our understanding of the universe.