We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As the maxim goes: "It is better to debate a question without settling it, than to settle a question without debating it." By surrounding ourselves with people of similar opinion, we are limiting ourselves. Democracy and intellect are fueled by differences; we are able to digest more knowledge by associating with those of differing opinions.

To begin with, humans are inherently biased towards their opinions. We are irrational creatures who based predilection on emotion. A recent Wall Street Journal article was published shedding light on the "overconfidence effect." The author went as far to say that over 60% of the "facts" that people strongly believe in are false. People do not realize the subliminal bias involved in what we perceive as true; it is imperative. Thus, by surrounding ourselves with people of opposing views, we are able to spark debate and force ourselves to substantiate our claims with facts.

Furthermore, it is illogical to believe that we are comfortable with our level of knowledge on any given subject. Debate sparks conversation and conversation leads to learning. For instance, a CNN special followed the lives of North Koreans who ran away from the closed off country. One of the emigrants spoke of the citizens of North Korea, mentioning that civilians love North Korea out of oblivion to the real world, blindly following the impassioned words of their dictatorial ruler. Questioning our views is equally as important as questioning opposing views, otherwise we run the risk of being misguided.

However, debate is not always amicable. It can easily turn awry, and suddenly stimulating conversation turns to scouring. Alternatively, surrounding ourselves with similar minded peers is unlikely to have such an outcome. Agreement can produce volumous conversation and inform on subjects previously unknown.

Irregardless, conversing with people maintaining alternative views encourages more in-depth conversation. Both sides speak vehemently on subjects which they feel strongly about. Facts and opinions are clearly laid out, attempting to sway each side; in turn, we are presented with a multitude of perspect and knowledge and are able to make informed decisions.