The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Questioning is a natural human tendency. It is derived due to curiosity among the people. This attitude has come a long way and is an important factor for the tremendous progress achieved through the ages. Similarly, it plays its part for a well-functioning society.

Questioning the authority has tremendous effects. It exposes the inefficiencies of the authority and brings those problems or the issues which were never thought of. It gives an opportunity to the people in the society to come up with their own thinking of how the system should work, even the authority has to answer the public to remain on a safer side. The real problems are addressed in real time rather than being ignored off. This was one of the important reasons for the colonies to be freed from their rulers. The growing dissatisfaction due to the atrocities committed were bubbled up and eventually the authority was questioned. And this led to multiple revolutionary movements which ultimately led to the independence of the colonies. It would have never had happened and even till now the colonial attitude would have persisted if no one had the audacity to ask for the justification of the actions from their rulers.

The tendency of questioning eliminates the monotony among the society, resulting in a more proactive society. The dynamic personalities are brought up and they become an inspiration for the generations to follow. For example the way Mahatma Gandhi led the freedom struggle for India is an exemplary model of peaceful leadership. This results in sowing of core values in the society having long term positive effects. The people become more aware of their rights and start exercising them in a better way. Any amount of disorder and dissatisfaction prevailing in the society van be eliminated through the questioning the authority.

Thus, an overall positive effect is detrimental which creates a stable and dynamic society and the authority, too, can function in a better way due to a two-way interaction with the public.