The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

When there is no alternative way to correct the government, people can stand up to draw the attention of authority to the public wants, to their well-being. However, normally, such involvement is not worthy as it has lots of drawbacks. Thus, to claim that the well-being of a society arises when majority of people question the authority, as the statement above does, is a not a tenable assertion.

To begin with, Well-being means the state of being happy, healthy and comfortable. Governmental authorities’ functions directly reflects on the three aforementioned states. When a political system becomes corrupt, the well-being becomes lost. This is because in corrupted governments, those in power are only vying to maintain their political power and no one concerns about the public affairs. After the centuries of governmental corruption _ not to tilt the balance of power in favor of a few individuals_ democratic societies have recognized the people as the balancing factor. In doing that, societies confer two important rights on the people: Having parliament, and legal protestation, to question their authorities.

When there is no other way, people with protestations and direct involvement in questioning their authority can make the society to step toward owing the well-being. With protestation the wants of people is demonstrated and authorities cannot ignore their wants anymore. Consider Martin Luther King. He persevered with governmental objections and by accompanying of huge crowds of people, he and the then people took back the lost respect of the African-American people.

Although the direct involvement of the majority of people has been in some respects beneficial, it should be the last alternative. There are significant drawbacks with such an approach. First people time is limited, if they constantly participate in the questioning of authority, then who should work? Parliaments are conferred on people to harbor their representatives fighting for the people’s interests while people fulfilling their own roles in society as a baker, professor, worker, or other jobs.

Furthermore, the direct involvement of many people in questioning authority can lead to violence which in turn opposes the safety of any society let alone the well-being. Consider the Syria. When the rebels questioned the authority the civil war happened and the results of that was the murder of many innocent people. The tragedy is further worsened when rebels took illegal military power shaped the terrorist Islamic-Government.

In short, the involvement of the majority of people in questioning the authorities should be the last way to lead the society in accessing the well-being. First because it is not a defined task for regular people to get involved directly, as public representatives salaries is due to doing such tasks for the people. And furthermore, the masses can become uncontrollable and lead the society to chaos.