The well being of the society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Many countries is the world follow democracy where society elects the government. Can a society progress if the citizens are reluctant to question its authority? Its commonly said, “Society suffers not because of action of bad peoples but because of the science of good people.” Many a times the government fall apart due to peoples silence in order to questioning the authority of their misdeeds.

The well-being of a society can be judged by its dedication and commitment to justice, liberty and freedom. Without constant critiques and examination from its people, a society can easily become imbalanced and hostage to unjust values. Therefore it is ever so pertinent for people to constantly access the authority to enhance the well-being of society. Being an alert citizen will always help to streamline atleast few processes in country. Authorities must also be questioned as they should prove their legitimacy to the people.

In many ways, a society has a contract with the individuals of that society to protect them and let them flourish with the freedom to pursue happiness. Inevitably, when authority fails to provide adequately and sometimes even oppress its people then people must question. For eg. Every citizen has “Right to Information” of certain things in society. Here, they can go in the governing office and fill the form and get the information, This also helps society as they become aware of the things going on with the authority. Authority and responsibility are two sides of same coin. Thought they appear to be different but are an integral part of the each other. So, the person who is given an authority has to be responsible as they are representing the nation. For example: There are six civil rights in India like Right to Equality, freedom ,right against exploitation, cultural and educational rights, Right to constitutional remedies. Here, people have right to questions the authority if they observe any misdeed or discrimination on grounds of religion, race, caste, sex, origin of birth etc.

Although questioning the authority is necessary it does not mean that people should always interfere is all the matters. As there are some matters where public interference cant be allowed. And also some decisions are necessary for the betterment of society in such cases authorities are not answerable to public. As more interference and also delay in fast processes.

I do agree that, well being of society is enhanced when people question the authority. The questioning should help the authority and should not be a hindrance. Public should be aware, alert and actively participate in national beneficiary activities. And should avoid being an obstacle. As they should also be aware of their duties along with the right to question. The questioning should improve the system and bring better prospect for the society.