The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

The author claims that for the betterment of a society, the members of society must question the authority. This might sound interesting to try but we need to look into different aspects, in which particular situations the authority needs to be questioned and when not before we reach any conclusion.

The well being of a society depends on various factors some of which includes job opportunities, mitigating poverty, proper healthcare facilities, healthy and hygienic living environment, management of transportation.

Society consists of different kinds of individuals, we are also a part of society.

Questioning is done when we are not satisfied or we need some changes in present situation. First, the society should question the authority if it is not performing its duties in a properly manner. For example, if in a city, where the municipal corporation has the responsibilities of city overall development wherein comes water management, sewage management, traffic management, safety of citizens etc. If the authority is well managing its duties and responsibilities, there stands no point in questioning the authority. Rather, we must appreciate the efforts made by authority. If we criticize or question them on their good work, they might get discouraged and the result would not be as expected.

The different forms of authority starts from our parents, the school we study at, the place we work and ruling government which takes care of overall well-being and development. For example an employee can question a manager about unfair salaries per task. If there is huge degree of corruption in government, we need to question it so as to uproot corruption. If we glance through the history, we have seen many examples that show us that questioning the authority has led to a positive outcome. The example of great Mahatma Gandhi, if he would have not questioned the British authority, we would today be devoid of our demands and Independence. His questioning the British government on points of equality, freedom and national independence was the basis for success. Some might claim that questioning authority must be accompanied by violent protest, but this is not always the case. Non violence protest and questioning is the best and most powerful way to putforth our demands in front of authority. If the authority does not heed to our demands, we then can opt for a different questioning strategy.

But, there are circumstances, when questioning the authority has negative consequences. For example, in case of a terrorist attack, the government must take quick and wise decisions and settle situations as soon possible to avoid further damage. To sum up, questioning the authority is required to achieve well being of society as long as it does hinders the growth or cause segregation.