The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

We have to admit that we are living in a more and more comfortable and convenient world, no oppression and poverty as our ancestors suffered which is largely due to the efforts that scientists jump out of the confinement of authority, that the public oppugns the authoritarians in a nation to seek for democracy, equality, freedom, that youngsters dare to break through stereotypes from their parent, teachers, and other instructors. But all of these challenges against the authority does not mean that this intends to induce conflicts, turbulence, or is an absurd behavior, but enhance the well-being of the overall society.

Not confined with the authority, the majority of scientists always remain their curiosity to their research fields, either finding new laws or confirming the false of previous conclusions in this way that they disclose us something about the nature and solve problems one after another in the process of social development. Galileo, for instance, kept his doubt about Aristotle's law of gravity, which was regarded as the classics in physics at that time, and overthrew Aristotle's law of gravity with the law of free fall in this way that he became the pioneer in modern natural science, radically changing people's knowledge about the cosmos and the motion of matter. Another example is Yuan Longping, who has cultivated hybrid rice more than 1,000 kg per mu, getting rid of the shackle of popular views of classical genetics, and now is developing a kind of high-salt-tolerant sea rice more than 300 kg per mu, turning saline-alkali land to arable land. These scientific breakthrough will benefit next generations.

Strengthened by the democratic consciousness, the public nowadays has passionately participated in the policy-making process with the government, opposing unreasonable policies and supervising the operation of governmental organization in order to promote the public welfare. A typical case is that people propel the development of an equal, honest society, by violently querying the policies the corrupt officials make either for themselves or for vested interest groups, or the officials' incompetence. In reality, the more the public questions the authorities, the better the society develops, such as China, America.

Today's youngsters, the future generation burdening social progress on their shoulders, are pride of their critical thinking and of their independent judgment, no longer subservient to their elders' wills and orders as before. In their opinion, seniors, though well-intended, sophisticated, sometimes make mistakes when they guide their children——after all too err is human; and even if what seniors say is truth, the more it is debated, the clear it is. Therefore, future generations with creativity, critical analysis will really be of enough capability to push the society forward.

However, the above-mentioned means of questioning the authority does not mean that they deliberately resist in the authority, or make conflicts or trouble with the authorities, but express their viewpoints after considerably in-depth analysis so that things will go towards a better direction. Sometimes, though this query may produce uncomfortable effects, it, if treated properly, will be beneficial to the sustainability and prosperity of the society.