The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I strongly agree with the statement, because the well-being of a society can be judged by its dedication and commitment to justice, liberty and freedom. Without constant critiques and examination from its people, a society can easily become imbalanced and hostage to injust values. Therefore it is ever so pertinent for people to constantly access the authority to enhance the well-being of society.

Sometimes authority must be questioned, because authority must prove its legitimacy to its people. In many ways, a society has a contract with the individuals of that society to protect them and let them flourish with the freedom to pursue happiness. Inevitably, when authority fails to provide adequately and sometimes even oppress its people then people must question. The American War of Independence is rooted in such beliefs. When King George and the British Parliament imposed a series of taxes on the American colonists without due representation, the colonists were right to criticize authority and its legitimacy. After a hard-won independence, the coloniser's society became more just as the Constitution, the Bill of Rights and their following amendments were written to safeguard the ideals of American society: freedom, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

Justice and freedom can be fought for as seen in the example of the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960's led by Martin Luther King Jr. By expressing their indignantion at the inequality through many nonviolent but powerful protests, the Movement was able to force a great majority of society, the White America, to consider the plights of the Black America. Martin Luther King detailed the atrocities and the failures of American society to integrate African-Americans, give an equal opportunity and protection with human rights. In doing so, he created a dialogue that led to action and the passage of the Civil Rights Act. Through his seminal Birmingham arrest and imprisonment to his apex delivery of his "Dream Speech" that questioned the authority of the oppression of racists and bystanders.

Though questioning authority has been shown to be hugely important, I do qualify my praise in some situations. Questioning authority is likely to be costly and time-consuming for citizens. More importantly, if the citizens are an angry, riotous mob that is very violent without an effective implementation of reform, then questioning authority is to the detriment of society. Overall, however though questioning authority has some downsides, the rewards outweigh the risks.

These examples show the value of questioning authority. In each case, society is improved and its ideals were acknowledged and safeguarded. Only in a few certain situations is questioning authority ineffective or sometimes destructive to society. It is inevitable that in numerous societies around the world may at times fall to dangerous hands and regimes and thus it is ever so important that people remain vigilant and uncompromising in questioning authority.