When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Change is an inevitable part of our lives. Every aspect of our lives is subject to modernization. While it is important for us to adapt to these changes, it would be wrong to completely let go of our past. Demolishing old buildings, that possess cultural significance, should not be the first option that planners resort to, when in need of space to construct modern buildings.

Presumably, the lack of sufficient space for construction is the reason modern planners decide to replace old buildings. However, planners must realize that erecting new buildings in place of old ones is only a temporary solution to this problem. We must make use of the technological advances we have made in the fields of architecture and civil engineering to construct buildings that make use of space more effectively. We now have the ability to build tall skyscrapers that can accomodate a larger number of people. Why not build such buildings rather than building in place of old structures.

A city’s ancient buildings usually hold deep cultural significance and are an important part of the city’s heritage. They preserve the aesthetic qualities and beauty of the cities. These buildings serve as a reminder of the city’s history and are also an embodiment of the architectural styles of different civilizations that inhabited these cities in the past. There is a lot that modern architects can learn from these structures that were built without any modern machinery hundreds of years ago.

Old buildings are not just a source of beauty and inspiration. They can also provide a steady monetory flow in the form of tourism. This money can be utilized to either restore old buildings or be used by the administration in different forms for the betterment of the city. In such cases it is actually advantageous to have old buildings than to destroy them.

However, not all old buildings are of cultural importance. In some cases it is actually better to demolish old buildings to make space for new ones. For example, buildings that are of no significance which do not attract tourists can be demolished. Also, when buildings are so old that they are crumbling and cannot be restored, it makes sense to replace them with modern structures that will actually benefit the society.

In conclusion, modern planners must be diligent and take informed decisions on wheather or not an old building can be torn down to make space for a new one. Buildings that are historically significant and those that show how the city has evolved over time must be preserved. Destroying these buildings must be a last resort for the modern planners. Building new structures over old buildings for modern purposes is acceptable as long as a culturally significant part of the city is not lost.