Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

For the young generation, pursuing one’s goal is both adventurous but arduous experience. Many seniors give advice to them not to do a silly thing but move sticking to your long-term and realistic goal. However, the advice is not always applicable nor successful to young people. The following essay will argue that it is plausible to disagree with the author’s statement and present the following reasons to support this point of view.

Admittedly, when people seek long-term and realistic goals, it has much higher percentage to become successful. For instance, rather than dreaming of becoming a pop star in one year, setting a goal of opening a bakery in 10 years is much more plausible. Considering the job availability and one’s talent, the latter requires much lower standard and the entry barrier is not high. However, to become a pop star, not only you have to have a distinguished talent, but those who can succeed as a star is limited in number. Therefore, it is more realistic to pursue a long-term and practical goal considering the qualifications and job vacancies.

However, pursuing immediate fame and recognition can motivate young people to become adventurous and fearless. Even though dreaming about immediate fame and recognition might seem silly and implausible, that is how many pop stars could achieve the status now. For instance, Michael Jackson, who was interested in music spent his youth to gain popularity as a singer. If he had worried about the realistic causes and gave up becoming a star, he could not have become the world’s most famous singer with best-selling albums. Therefore, it is encouraged for the young generation to challenge for their dream when this dream is based on their strong ambition.

Furthermore, for many young people, setting a long-term goal is not easy in this rapidly changing society. New technologies are invented every month and these are changing the market environment faster than ever. For example, the music player industry was booming 10 years ago, and the future of it seemed very promising. However, now as the smartphone was invented, the music player became useless and its sales plunged to the ground. Seeing this, we cannot ensure that opening a bakery will not be useless in 10 years even if a convenient baking machine will be invented. Therefore, it might seem more practical to set a short-term goal every year and shift it through depending on changing environment.

In consequence, even though long-term and realistic goals are likely to be achieved, it might not be applicable to the young generation who wants to pursue risky and living in a dynamic world.