Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How can young people pursue with successes in their profession life or research work? In my humble view, it is true that establishing a long-term realistic goal would contribute them for greater success. However, this doesn't mean that immediate fame and recognition play little functionality during this procedure. Furthermore, it is also worth to point out that both of them are not mutually exclusive to guarantee the youth to grasp with great accomplishment.

To start off, if we want to inspire young people's ambition and guide them for greater achievements, we should encourage them to pursue with long-term target, since such goal could help them build up solid foundation for their future successes. Either in academic research or among business world, long-term ambition always work better in regards to their further success. First, in academic research, by leveraging ambitious goal for relative long time, we can build up solid foundation for reaching such goal. Because research works requires our deep insights for target domain and comprehensive knowledge for further exploration, which requires long time accumulation based on long-term direction. Additionally, even in business world, the glory of "Roma" in business couldn't be established in a day. That is to say, it is through accumulation for both resources and practical experience that one could grasp precious opportunities to gain tremendous profit for enterprise. However, all of this requires a long-term goal's guide, which force us to persist with original goal even confronted with challenges. In this light, long-term goals serves as guiding star for accomplishment of the youth.

However, instead of keeping a skeptics even negative attitude to immediate fame and recognition, I have to contend that those short-term success is also indispensable, since they could facilitate to build up courage and momentum in the process of seeking long-term goals. To understand this point, we should pore over characteristics of human being and how we can make progress in practice. With regards to characteristics of human, it is undoubted that people require occasional confirmation for their behaviors or motivation. Otherwise, without positive affirmation, they, especially without sufficient stamina one, could fail to continue with original goal. In this sense, immediate recognition works as an effective motivator in this process, which could give them continual impetus and avoid them to jettison easily. Moreover, we often face with such dilemma, in which we don't know how far or how long we can reach the ultimate despite with indefatigable efforts. By harnessing goals which could be implemented in short time period, it is better for us to measure our progress and further adjust our schedule. All of those seemingly my myopic goals of no doubt guarantee us on the well track to the long-term purpose.

Furthermore, what I find the most problematic is that the author blindly consider those factors as contradictory pairs and drive us to make a yes-no choice. However, such assumption is tenuous and doesn't always hold true. As discussed before, we can't reach long-term purpose within a stride, therefore it is necessary to meticulously choose a series of immediate targets and schedule them logically. And by realizing such piecemeal target one after another, we can possess confidence and ability to approach our long-term vision and ultimately achieve it. In turn, to avoid indulgence with myopic recognition, the long-term realistic goals shouldn't be lost, since only implementing immediate goals might squander our talents in diverse fields and fail to accumulate our real strength for long-term success. Take study for Reinforcement Learning as an example. Despite the amazing goal to master such complex topic in artificial intelligence, the youth should have specific plans beside this overall goal. For instance, it is necessary to decouple such target into pieces of subtasks, such as theoretical learning, practical exercise, and research work, etc. Among those subtasks, the youth might consider taking some competitions to verify their skills and knowledges, which, if well organized, could inevitably contribute to their deep insights of learning. In this case, fames and recognition in competitions well serve for our long-term goals and long-term goals in turn guide how we choose the subtask in a more reasonable way.

In summary, it is beneficial for us to make determination for farsighted goals, given the long journey to the ultimate success. However, as discussed before, it is evident that resorting to immediate feedback from achievement of piecemeal short-term goal could guarantee us to reach our final end. This is to say, long-term goal and short-term targets doesn't form a irreconcilable dichotomy: we can cultivate our ambition in the long run while utilizing short-term steps to gradually reach it.