Children can learn effectively from watching television, which is why it should be encouraged at school and at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Without any doubt, today, advanced technology has made learning easier and faster. Most of the people are encouraging their children to watch TV in order to obtain the knowledge and learning new things. While I agree that watching TV brings some positive effect on children, I believe that this trend has more adverse effects on our children and as well on our society.

On the one hand side, watching TV can bring some benefits to the youngsters. There are, indeed, some advantages in introduction of the television at home and as well as in educational institutes. For instance, there are many informational TV channel such as discovery and science channels are merely for educational purpose. Furthermore, spending time on watching television could increase focus and concentration in some folks. For example, in autism and hyperactive disorder, children have focus deficiency; some studies have proven that those children have improved the attention span and increase ability to sit longer in front of TV. Thus, it can be seen that there are some positive impact of this trend.

On the other hand, I believe that there are several side effect of the watching television. Spending time watching TV can take time away from healthy activities such as play outside with friends that lead the obesity and isolation. In addition, some program are designed to entertaining purpose not for educational purpose, these programmes have violence and inappropriate language that leave the bad impact on the immature brains. Moreover, excessive TV viewing is probably discouraged reading books and informative articles. As a result, children would have lack of the cognitive and problem solving skills. It can be concluded that television have negative impact on the physical and mental health of the children.

In conclusion, I believe that watching television have more disadvantages than the advantages. Children can watch television under the supervision of their parents and teachers merely to obtain informational and educational knowledge.