"Companies benefit when they discourage employees from working extra hours or taking work home. When employees spend their leisure time without producing something for the job, they will be more focused and effective when they return to work." Discuss.

As the fear of unemployment in this unstable economic environment makes people busier and busier at work, working extra hours or taking work home nowadays is not a new phenomenon. To my way of thinking, this working method affects negatively not only companies but also employees.

There is no doubt that if employees work more hours or take work home, the decrease in productivity would be inevitable. Everyone certainly feels tired after nearly a half day working. Thus, with extra time spent at work, employees cannot do their tasks efficiently due to their exhausted condition which also influences on their productivity on the following days. Furthermore, workers cannot avoid the distraction of housework and family especially children when they take work home. Doing two tasks at the same time limits their concentration on one certain task and they are not be able to work 100 percent of productivity for a certain task, which might lead to unwanted accidents. Beside the impacts on employees’ physical health, this working method also has detrimental effects on their mental health. The more time they spend working, the less time they have for their own leisure activities as well as their family. As a consequence, because of the lack of care from them who are parents, their children will become to be spoil. Lastly, in term of companies, in spite of the unproductivity of employees, the companies still have to pay for their extra hours working.

On the other hand, working extra hours or taking work home helps more work done, which results in more money as bonus for employees. Despite the fact that workers might get more salary by this way, they have to push their own health at risk and they finally still have to pay even more for their health checking and health treatment.

To summarize, in my opinion, the disadvantages absolutely outweigh one small advantage of working extra hours or taking work home. Therefore, this working method should be discouraged for the sake of both employees and firms.