Equal number of male and female students should be admitted in universities. Do you agree or disagree?

Gender equality is a buzz word, thus, some people assert that both female and male students must be given equal opportunity in all academic institutions. However, I do not agree with the idea of equal proportions of each gender in university subject.

Without demur, having same number of students in every university subject is unrealistic. Student’s number in any subject is highly determined by the number of applications from the interested applicants. If university decides to fill each course with equal male and female students then it would need enough applications but which is often not the case in real scenario. This is primarily because many courses are more popular with one gender than the other.

Further, two genders differ considerably in their physical strength and tender. This makes different gender suitable to go for different courses. For instance, construction related subjects such as civil engineering or mechanical engineering often demands male students with high physical stamina, on the other hand, health and community subjects is more desired by soft and tender female students. Therefore, to expect equal number of male and female students for each subject is impossible.

Moreover, the idea of similar number of male and female students in all degree courses encourages the reservation which denigrates merit-based admission where qualified students would be barred. This is devastating for the reputation of university as well as detrimental to not just for individuals because of frustration but for the whole society eventually.

In a nutshell, selection of university students must be undoubtedly based upon the academic performance. It is unfair and impractical to hire different gender students in an equal proportion.