Essay topic:

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era acquiring foreign language skills have become a requisite for the every individual, but the issue of knowing the perfect age for learning language skills is still a burning issue and is being discussed by the language researchers. Strong evidences are there to prove the worth of both aspects of the viewpoint that the pupils ought to acquire language skills at the age of elementary school level or in the adolescence.

As a matter of fact, taking the optimistic aspect of the perspective, we are aware that a child`s mind is like clay and can be moulded easily in the diverse ways. At the tender age a kid can comprehend the short lessons conveyed to him and gets engrossed into the river of knowledge in a play way method. His subconscious mind recklessly grasps the transformations around him and ultimately he miraculously manages to perceive, whatever is taught to him.

However, the second reason for advocating its pros over cons is that when an offspring moves towards maturity, he is not much adaptable to novel things, so absorbing lingo dexterity at the later age becomes gradually a bit tough task.

On the shady side of this issue, it has been observed that a younger mind gets baffled and is unable to learn his mother tongue. He adopts mixed vernacular and dialects, which are neither true to any of the language, he is learning. Most of the times, his expressions are mingled and might be miss-understood. For example if he intends to reflect his anguish then it would come better in his own diction rather than a foreign vocabulary and if he is gaining both language skills at same pace then it can hinder the wisdom of his innate verbal communication.

No doubt, a cognitive approach elucidates that to get hands on a foreign language; the best time is to attain it in small age and the positive argument certainly outweighs the negative side and after delving deep into the topic the conclusion supports language acquiring at Elementary School.