Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in consideration in terms of growing traffic and pollution problems. According to many people, puting up the price of petrol is the best way to solve this problem. Yet there still remains some arguments against this issue. Overall, it is my personal view that increasing the price of petrol may bring about major problems and can be placed by other alternatives.

First of all, it is an insdiputable fact that increasing the price of petrol is able to reduce the volume of traffic and polltution problems only in the short term. When the law of putting up the price of petrol is first introduced, people may react by cutting down using private transportation. However, when the demand of transportation becomes vitally pivotal and can not be unaccessible, people still continue to use personal vehicle regardless of what happens. Moreover, when people get used to the high cost of transportation and are able to adapt to it, increasing the price of petrol is no longer takes effect.

Equally important, though the increase in the price of the petrol may adversely impacts on the economy. It is admittedly that Petrol has a essential role to play in the economy particaularly in tourism and transportation. When the price of petrol rises, it definitely leads to the rising price of other goods, thus giving way to inflation and even unstable market.

In order to stem the tide of growing traffic and pollution problems, I believe we must first address its root causes. at the hear of the matter is the high demand of using transportation. I firmly believe that people would find the idea of public transport namely bus, subway far more appealing if they can be accessed everywhere and economical to everyone. Moreover, campaigns concerning environment education should be adopted and enjoyed by the majority of citizens.

In reality, this problem is unlikely to be resolved in the short term. However, it is by no means surmountable, and I am convinced that more people will choose public transportation rather than private means of transport because of its convenience and economical cost.