Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, most of governments have to grapple with the problems of traffic and air pollution. It is argued that petrol's cost is the key, and these problems are solved by growth of petrol's cost. Numerous positive points can be considered to support this statement; however, this assertion can be rejected by looking at it from another point of view. In what follows, I will discuss this issue from both angles, and then other solutions would be delineated.

To begin with, it is believed that the primary reason for traffic and air pollution is using private cars. As far as people find the price of petrol low, they prefer to use their own cars rather than public transportation; therefore, if the petrol's cost goes up, not only it is not economic to use private cars, but also many cannot afford it; consequently, the number of cars decreases, and the traffic and air pollution would be disappeared. After considering this fact, it is clear why many gravitate towards this point of view.

However, it is argued that people use their private cars if they cannot find other modes of transportation to make their trips, regardless of petrol's cost. it helps to think a city which does not have any public transportation. In this city, people do not have any other choices rather than using their own cars; hence, the government cannot tackle traffic and air pollution by increasing petrol's price; therefore, it is obvious why this idea is supported by many.

There are many contributers to traffic and pollution including lack of infrastructers, using out of date cars, lackluster public transportation's performance. Firstly, the governments should improve the transportation network by making new highways, and optimize traffic signals. Secondly, they should replace old cars with efficient ones, or electrify the cars to reduce pollutant materials which are produced by cars. Finaly, the adminstratives should make a superb public transportation, and join them perfectly to cover all parts of a city. These actions can change people's decision about using their private cars more than increasing the price of petrol.

To sum up, no one can deny the effects of petrol's price on traffic and pollution; however, I personally think that its growth cannot solve the problems itself, and some other actions like building new highways, cars electrification, and improving public transportation should be done perior to increasing the petrol's price since these actions seem more advantageous.