Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure, and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

With the blooming of information technology, now we are becoming more and more dependent on it. Although it can cause several demerits to our life, in my opinion, the advantages of information technology still overwhelmed the detrimental effect on others.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that some people may blame computer technology of making people lazier. For example, now students usually avoid hand written and do word processing to complete their assignment, so that they will be not fond of taking notes or write down teacher’s idea in the lessons. However, the irony here is that only when information technology comes to our life, can we save a lot of time in our work or study. Today, instead of taking several days to send a letter to our business partners, we can send an email in few seconds. In addition, thanks to internet and intranet, people now could do video conferencing to hold a meeting or to practice speaking English without traveling to anywhere.

On the other hand, it is claimed that information technology may consume a large amount of time of people. To specify, people might take several hours to read emails or check status on social media. Therefore, they will spend lesser time on playing sport or participating in outdoor activities and it can lead to the deterioration of their health. Nevertheless, by dint of the popular of technology, now people have various kinds of recreation activities at home. For example, with only a computer and internet connection, you can play games, read newspapers, watch the latest movies, or listen to your favorite songs. Moreover, by virtue of joining social media like Facebook or Twitter, you can easily connect to your friends and have a talk any time you want.

In conclusion, in spite of several drawbacks, information technology is bringing a great convenience to our lives and changing it in a positive way.