It is generally believed that some people are born with some talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sport person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is a huge variation in the skills of the human beings at performing certain types of work. The cause of these differences is a matter of argument, whether it is something inherited or it can be acquired. Personally, I believe that every human skill could be learnt with practice.

Most of the public think that professional athletes, singers, actors, musicians and even clowns have a genetically received talent or special ability. The reason for that is the appearance of such skills in those people since the early childhood. For instance, most of the great football players were seen to have a good control on the ball in their early life days. Another example is that many school boys and girls are able to play piano and other vocal instruments without even being introduced to any special classes or receiving training more than their usual mates.

However, others, particularly teachers, coaches and highly educated people, believe that every person could become a professional in certain field with continuous, supervised, hard exercise. The human intellectual and physical abilities have no limits if they have been directed and guided to the right way. Many psychologists have reported that if anybody has combined his or her physical and mental skills with hard work they can accomplish their goals easily. This could be seen, for instance, in great sports’ champions when they have been asked about their success’ stories, nearly all of them gave the answer of hard, long practice. Thus, it can be clearly seen that hard work will improve skills.

In conclusion, many people argue about the skills of some skillful people, whether they are acquired or inherited. Although, part of them were born with some sort of talent, many others have become professionals with exercise. In my opinion, any skill could be taught with hard work.