In many countries tourism is a major part of the economy, but it also causes environmental damage and ruins the places it exploits. It is argued that tourists should pay an additional tax to compensate for this damage. To what extent do you agree?

It is an open secret that tourism is an integral part of many people’s lives. Not only does it help people to get new experiences and emotions but also facilitates the development and maintenance of countries’ economies. On the other hand, tourism contributes to environmental damage and vandalization. It is considered that making tourists pay an additional tax might diminish the consequences of their actions. I can not fully agree with this position because, in my opinion, such measures will not be as effective as it is stated for the following reasons.

To start with, these impositions seem to be quite unfair because not all the tourists cause damage. A whole host of people are extremely concerned with ecological issues and, therefore, do their best in order not to damage the environment. My friend Katya is one of them. To tell the truth, she is obsessed with environmental activism and knows everything about ecological ways of travelling. I believe Katya would not be over the moon if she found out that she would have to pay such a tax along with those who do not even try. In addition, taxes can reduce the flow of tourists, which would severely affect countries’ economies.

Moreover, such a tax might not solve the problem of environmental damage caused by tourists. Provided this tax were imposed, many people would just pay it and continue ruining nature. If you ask me, it is a fine that could solve this problem but not a tax. There is a study which showed that in many cases fines are much more effective than taxes because the former sanction only those who are guilty.

Overall, I, personally, have a lot of doubts that tourist taxes can deal with this issue. There are better ways to prevent and diminish ecological consequences caused by tourists’ actions, which will have smaller costs for the economies.