Mass media is more influential nowadays and some people think it is a negative development. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The topic of whether the mass media has brought negative impact is of concern for many people. Some believe that the mass media sends the wrong messages to teenagers while some others think disagree. As for me, I think mass media delivers useful information.

There is no question that the mass media has revolutionised people’s lifestyles. Firstly, it has improved the accessibility of information which is intended to reach a large numbers of audiences. As the use of TV and internet is dramatically increasing, the important news such as service announcements and emergency alters is more accessible to the public, allowing people to learn more current affairs. Secondly, mass media provides a form of entertainment to users. Compared with the old days, people are more likely to watch TV programmes after working hours with friends and family, thereby consolidating the relationships with others by sharing a few laughs.

However, on no accounts should we the dark sides of mass media. To start with, many TV dramas are flooded with violent scenes which are designed to make the products more thrilling. If teenagers and school children are exposed to aggressive material consistently, they might try to imitate those violent behaviours because some of them cannot distinguish right and wrong. Besides, the advertisements in TV and radio can sometimes have adverse impacts on consumers. For example, some greedy companies and industries exaggerate the function of the items because they just want to sell their products and make more profits. As a result, some consumers may find that they have brought some products they would never use due to the misleading advertisements.

To sum up, I believe that the mass media is essential for the current society. However, in order to minimise the adverse impacts, the government should state the laws to regulate the application of mass media.