Modern technology allows machines to perform the hard work instead of humans. Does this have a positive or a negative effect on people? Give your own opinion and examples.

It is true that the current innovations in technology have led to less humans’ involvement in work. While I accept that there are many problems caused by this trend, I believe that its benefits are greater.

On the one hand, the increasing appearance of automatic robots in the hard work is problematic for several reasons. Firstly, many countries would be faced with labor crisis. As more machines are used in production, manual workers may find themselves redundant and are eventually out of work. This, in turn, is likely to worsen the problem of unemployment which is already severe in some countries due to the recent economic recession. Secondly, the use of robots in factories requires enormous investments. At the same time, finance for this long-term project could be better utilized to solve other urgent issues, such as illiteracy elimination, poverty eradication and educational system improvement.

On the other hand, the substitute of machines for humans in the hard work is advantageous. No doubt the level of safety in hazardous jobs probably increases. For example, machines are preferred in space research because they are made to endure the change in pressure and the lack of oxygen that human body is incapable of. Another outstanding merit is higher accuracy. In the banking industry, machines are employed widely to avoid mistakes. Only one minor mistake made by human could bring about the loss of billions of dollars. Furthermore, machines are able to work longer hours, up to 24 hours per day which is triple that of an average worker. Therefore, productivity is driven up, yielding higher revenue.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the rise of robotic work force offers considerable benefits despite the above-mentioned drawbacks.