Nowadays companies and other organisations are requiring their employees to wear uniform. Think about jobs where uniform is important. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing a uniform?

The topic of whether companies or organisations should require employees to wear a uniform is of concern for many workers and managers. Some believe that it is important for companies’ professional images, while others claim that uniform has negative impacts on staff performance. This essay is going to analyse the cons and pros of this phenomenon.

Those who assert uniforms hold the following reasons. Firstly, uniforms can create one’s sense of discipline and identity. When employees are wearing identical outfits with specific logo, they are reminded that their roles are to make contributions to the company, thereby putting more effort on their work as they feel as a member of a big family. Secondly, all staffs do not worry about what to wear on the flowing day. As the certain clothes have been decided in working hours, employees will not have to spend time in a shop to select business suits for daily use, which ultimately saves enormous sum for all workers.

However, on no account should we ignore the drawbacks of this trend. To start with, there are a small number of people who feel that the uniforms are uncomfortable. For example, one may have problems in selecting the correct size because of body characteristic or be allergic to the particular material. In this case, employees will not perform well as they focus on their clothes instead of their job, which has adverse impacts on business advancement. Besides, staff members may lose enthusiasm when they have to wear the same colours and dresses. Being creative and imaginative, some workers who are designers or advertisers can get bored and less excited with the influence of uniforms as they do not feel their distinct identities.

To sum up, it is recommended for every employee to wear identical uniforms because the advantages far outweigh the downsides. However, the company should design a set of good uniforms to suit all employees.