A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at a constitution or organization as part of their programme.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

Whether or not it is absolutely to force students to experience a period of certain time during their courses is a hotly debated issue. There are those who argue that it is beneficial for students to have that course. Some others do not completely agree with this argument. In this essay, both positive and negative effects of this type of course would be indicated.

First of all, it is essential for students to spend amount of time practising their skills before they graduate from universities and enter into the labour market. It may be true that via access of a constitution or an organization, students would gain much more valuable experience in the working environment. This is regarded as a golden opportunity to improve and apply theory that students study into reality. More importantly, this course could help learners to get acquainted with harsh pressure of their obligations in the working place where they will deal with. As a result, a large number of high qualified workers will be well-trained to be already to participate in the labour market with the aim of improving more socio-economic development.

However, students are required to do the practical course causing counterproductive issues. It is clear that students are being under severe pressure of time, they do not have enough time to pay attention to that course because it is hard to divide schedule logically. Moreover, there are varieties of students who spend that course; they are not well-equipped with much practical knowledge because these organizations do not exchange working skills with students. As a matter of fact, students are undertaken manual work at the institutions and exploited labour force. Therefore, students have high risk of labour exploitation.

It seems to me there are both advantages and disadvantages of experiencing practical course. Its positive effects are overweight negative issues. It is important to limit its drawbacks to have a perfect course that each student really needs.