The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I do not agree with this statement for several reason. First, because we are social creature so we need to socialized, to meet other people and communicate. Nowadays, we can use information technologies, such as the internet with all the social media to communicate with other, there also e-learning system so we learn from distance, but with all the facilities we still need to meet directly maybe not as often as before. Communicate with social media sometimes can cause misperception or faking. E-learning demands the student to be discipline, self-regulation learner. For children and young people, they still regular meeting with their teacher to develop their character such as discipline, respect for other, honest, mental toughness, etc. Second, some people think by working at home they will have more flexible time, but the reality people have a burned job because with their idealism they try to be fair with family and work time.

It’s impossible, we must have priority. Some companies such as Yahoo now demand their employees have regular meeting at their office. Yahoo CEO have noticed that working at home was not effective. Third, I think that to stop people for traveling to reduce traffic jam was not the main issues. We cannot stop the need because it our basic need. So, the government have to build a better system so people do not have use their own transportation. Mass transportation such as train, buss, or airplane must be increased with good quality.

In Indonesia, with region system, parents will be encouraged to choose school nearby their home. Its important to young people to meet their teacher and socialize. But I agree, with online shop its help a lot to save time. But according to my personal experience, I still need to go to the mall to have the right size. And hang out with a friend or family at cozy place are fun and valuable. Fourth, shopping or working from home efficient but short effects are many people will lost their job such as office boy, security, waitress, shop keeper, driver, driver assistant, etc.

So I think their many way to solve the traffic jam. We can reducing the need but its not the main solution. Because meet other people are our basic need.