In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the disadvantages and advantages of such a solution?

These days, if you travel any country, u can face with traffic congestion. When we watch tv channels we can see that even in some countries cars can be motionless for 5 or 6 hours on roads due to traffic problems. Surely it affects people's daily routine. Each country try to solve these negatives by taxing private car owners heavily. After which the money is used to develop public transportation. In this essay i will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of such a solution.

One of the first benefits of the measure is that heavy taxes are able to discourage car owners to use their cars. Because if they drive own car it will become more expensive than using public transportation. So they trend to make us of public transportation, thus it reduces traffic problems as well as air pollution. Also sometimes we can see buses, metros are poorly and need changes to make better. Thereby high taxes can cover the needs of the issue.

Nevertheless, the solution has several shortcomings. The most important point of it is that this will be a heavy burden on the car drivers, especially on poor people. If governments should tax car owners who are poor , it can affect worse their budget as well as their standard living line. Because high taxes can be half of the money involves the poor's budget. Also heavy taxes may not influence on wealthy drivers. Thats why it is not fair tax.

To sum up i personally think that this issue is biased all over the world and need to think deeply for not becoming worse